Wacom Graphire 4 stopped working

Reaction score
Hi there. I've been using a Wacom Graphire 4 with my Mac Pro G5 for many years, working as an illustrator using Photoshop.
Recently I managed to find a second-hand replacement Wacom Graphire as my original tablet's lead was coming loose, causing it to malfunction. The replacement tablet worked initially but then started to malfunction resulting in my G5 crashing and I was unable to reboot as I couldn't open the cd draw! I assumed that the Wacom was faulty but it works fine on my back-up Mac mini. Consequently, I had the G5 repaired and the hard-drive cloned and replaced. The Wacom then worked for a couple of months but is now malfunctioning in exactly the same way: ( i.e. any movement results in a drawn black line on a yellow post-it type background). The tablet still works fine with the mac mini. I've tried all the downloads on the Wacom site for OS X 10.4 taking care to uninstall and restart each time, but with the same result. Any suggestions would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

-Which exact model G5?
-Which version of OS X?
-Which version of Photoshop?
-Which model/size of Graphire4? It is a USB model, correct?
-Which version of the Wacom software?

There could be many reasons the issue is occurring. It sounds like a graphics issue by the way you described it. Let us know the additional information and we'll try to sort it out.

C

Reaction score
Wacom: model CTE-430(Sapphire) USB? (It plugs in to a socket)
software: version 4.79
G5 model:power Mac 9,1
OS X 10.4.11
Photoshop 7

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Thanks for the additional information.

That Wacom model has a USB connection. Is it the exact same model you were using before?