Using Windows programs on a Mac

Reaction score
Hi Guys

I am new to mac due to my "iBrother" who is an avid mac user. I must say I love it and find it so easy to use once I was familiar with the terminology, however one thing that grieves me is I have quite a few expensive genealogy software programs that I can no longer use as that are not compatible with the mac. I heard there was something - windows emulation for mac but I don't understand what I should be looking for exactly. I did try to google it but just for more confused.
I want something that is easy to install and use I don't want to upset my pc. I just want to be able to access my programs.
I have a Mac Mini OX S
Your opinions and help would be appreciated
Cheers Tracy

Reaction score
Are you sure there isn't a Mac App that will read your genealogy files, if they use the standard formats there should be.

Setting up Windows on any computer is not for the faint of heart.
We normally use Parallels but there are others like VMWare.

You can also use BookCamp but that just turns your Mac into a Windows PC, and you have to keep restarting your Mac to change to Windows.

karazelle

Reaction score
The process to make this work involve:
- Getting a copy of Windows. Windows XP Home is the least resource intensive. Windows 7 Home Premium is the latest version. This depends on the system requirements of the software. Windows costs money, so you need to look at the cost of Windows vs similar software on Mac.
- Get vmware fusion or parallels desktop. Both of these are good. I use vmware, but I have also tried parallels. One of them is enough.
The benefit with these is they will automatically install and configure Windows for you. You will only need to add your software at the end and you're done. Unfortunately these also cost money...