SSD showing wrong capacity

Joined
Jun 12, 2020
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
HI on the Board,

My Macbook Pro running Mojave is showing I've used 783GB of 1TB but I've only used 477GB by my reckoning.

Is there anything I can do about this?

Cheerz

Sun B
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2020
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Here you go, thanks in advance for any light you can throw
 

Attachments

  • purgeable.png
    purgeable.png
    100.3 KB · Views: 139
  • Screenshot 2020-06-12 at 15.30.19.png
    Screenshot 2020-06-12 at 15.30.19.png
    160.4 KB · Views: 152
  • Screenshot 2020-06-12 at 15.32.01.png
    Screenshot 2020-06-12 at 15.32.01.png
    173.4 KB · Views: 157
Joined
Jun 12, 2020
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
As you see, OmniDiskSweeper reports the correct figure, Disk Utility says I've used 300Gb more which is inaccurate
 

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
11,102
Reaction score
496
Hello,

Can you upload another screenshot from Disk Utility. In Disk Utility, click View in the menu bar and choose Show All Devices instead of Show Only Volumes, then we can see if there may be other containers using the "missing" space.

Media
media.png

Container
container.png

Volume
volume.png

From your About This Mac > Storage screenshot, the gray "System" is what seems to be taking up a lot of space. It could be a runaway log file, which I have seen before.
system.png

C
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top