Pierreadolf from France

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by pierreadolf, Apr 14, 2018 at 6:25 PM.

  1. pierreadolf

    pierreadolf New Member

    Joined:
    Saturday
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,
    I am Pierreadolf,German, living in France since 24 years in a small town.I love the country life.
    Last year I bought my first MAC an occasion,Mac Book Pro from 2011.I think it is the last that has a DVD Player and I wanted that.
    OK this is not the right place for my question but I can not imagine were else to put it,it is:
    I recorded a CD with old Chinese Music which I want to send to a friend in the USA,but I think I once heard something about that they have another code there . What do you think ? It runs on my MAC but will it run on hers? Thanks for your help,Pierreadolf
     
    pierreadolf, Apr 14, 2018 at 6:25 PM
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. pierreadolf

    honestone New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3,946
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Kent, WA (just south of Seattle, WA)
    Without more details, this could be difficult to answer. So I'll ask you some questions:

    1. What audio format is the CD with the old Chinese Music? This link should be helpful:

    https://www.makeuseof.com/tag/audio-file-format-right-needs/

    2. What software did you use to do the recording?

    3. Any idea what Mac model your friend has?

    4. What Mac OS are you running?
     
    honestone, Apr 15, 2018 at 12:23 AM
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. pierreadolf

    Cory Cooper Moderator

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,565
    Likes Received:
    174
    Hello and welcome.

    If it is a standard audio CD, it will play anywhere in the world. If it is a DVD, then the DVD region code may come into play. Europe is Region 2 and North America (US and Canada) is Region 1.

    C
     
    Cory Cooper, Apr 15, 2018 at 12:31 AM
    #3
  4. pierreadolf

    honestone New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3,946
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Kent, WA (just south of Seattle, WA)
    Cory,

    Given that he recorded the CD, what would be a "standard" audio format (or are there choices)?
     
    honestone, Apr 15, 2018 at 12:42 AM
    #4
  5. pierreadolf

    Cory Cooper Moderator

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,565
    Likes Received:
    174
    honestone,

    Depending on how they burned (recorded) an audio CD, they should be playable on all CD players. Normal audio CD files are stored in AIFF format, but you can make MP3 and other audio discs as well. Using third-partyy software like Roxio Toast, you can burn actual Red Book standard CDs, which conform to the same standards as commercial CDs you purchase.

    C
     
    Cory Cooper, Apr 15, 2018 at 2:55 PM
    #5
  6. pierreadolf

    honestone New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3,946
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Kent, WA (just south of Seattle, WA)
    Thanks, Cory.

    So I guess it depends on how the op "burned" the CD, ie, what software did he use and what settings were used.
     
    honestone, Apr 15, 2018 at 4:59 PM
    #6
  7. pierreadolf

    pierreadolf New Member

    Joined:
    Saturday
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you all very much!
    I recorded it with Audacity but I converted it from their format to MP3.And how I learned from honestone`s link to : makeuseof.com it should be playable on every CD Player.
     
    pierreadolf, Apr 15, 2018 at 6:39 PM
    #7
  8. pierreadolf

    honestone New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3,946
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Kent, WA (just south of Seattle, WA)
    Good to hear. But please the next time when we ask you for the Mac OS you are using, answer our question. That can be an important piece of information.
     
    honestone, Apr 15, 2018 at 6:52 PM
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.