PB or not PB...that's not quite the question

Reaction score
I already know I want a PB (15.2" screen). The question is, what, if any upgrades should I consider for the following usage? All advice welcome.

A bit of background. I grew up with Macs (my dad is a devotee), but as a professional, I've adapted to a PC world and it's been a while since I used a Mac. We have a PC desktop at home with broadband, burner, wireless mouse, etc.

I want my Apple PB to allow me to do the following:

Newsletter production using Quark Express
Minor image manipulation using Adobe Photoshop CS
PDF creation using Adobe Acrobat
Screenwriting with Final Draft
Office-suite type work that I can easily share with my work computer and my PC-dependent colleagues
General life management
iTunes
Maybe watch DVDs on the computer, but not too likely.

I expect this to be portable vs. docked. I hope to be writing comfortably ensconced upon the couch in my jammies with a hot cup of tea and a plate of TimTams.

I expect that I'll want to have fast wireless access outside of home and office, if possible.
I'm not great with tracking devices on laptop, am quite reliant on the two-button mouse. Is the two-button mouse a must have or is it easy to adapt to a one-button mouse? I'm used to the wireless mouse at home, is it useful with a PB? I do not really need the SuperDrive, as we have that capability on the desktop PC and it's really something my husband does, not me.

We're a one-car family, so I often find myself on public transportation. Is a second battery useful? Tips on a good but light carrying case? Is it easy to hook up to a broadband network that's been created with our desktop?

I'm not sure if I'm asking the right questions, but anybody's thoughts on minimum needs in terms of upgrades and accessories would be valuable.

Also -- how do people feel about AppleCare?

Thanks in advance,
AA

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Go

My recommendations based on your uses/requirements: