Pages 8.1 problem


Patsy Cockrum

New Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2014
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
Sometimes when I type in a pages document, The text that I'm typing doesn't show up, only a straight line. This just recently started, probably with Pages 8.1. I first noticed it when I attempted to copy a link and paste it in a document, which I've done numerous times in the past. When I pasted it, only a long straight line appeared. So I highlighted it and was about to delete it and try again when I noticed that when it was highlighted, I could see the link. When I "unhighlighted" it, only the line showed. So I thought, "Well. I guess you can no longer copy and paste links, or maybe they've changed the way that it's done?" I deleted that and began to type normally. Just the long straight line showed. I tried another spot on the page and there was my text. What is happening??? This doesn't always happen. I'm using Mac OS 10.13.6. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!
 
Ad

Advertisements

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
7,473
Reaction score
265
Hello,

I haven't seen this issue personally. It may be a font issue? Can we get a screenshot of what it looks like?

C
 

Patsy Cockrum

New Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2014
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
Top is this link pasted, unhighlighted.
Bottom is the same thing, highlighted.
Screen Shot 2019-11-16 at 9.44.25 AM.png
 

Patsy Cockrum

New Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2014
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
Also, I just noticed the "side bars" are different, depending on which text is highlighted. I don't understand the reason for this.
Screen Shot 2019-11-16 at 9.54.10 AM.png
 

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
7,473
Reaction score
265
Hello,

The Side Bar, Problem Text screenshot is why you are getting the pasting issue. Somehow you made a new paragraph style that includes the underline, Times font, 14 pt spacing, etc. Default is not a normal paragraph style.

Here is some more information on defaults in Pages:
Set a default font in Pages on Mac
Use templates in Pages on Mac

Check those out and you can set your defaul template and font settings using those as a guide.

C
 

Patsy Cockrum

New Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2014
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
The item I tried to paste was a link, so it was underlined. I guess it was Times 14, too. I didn't change anything. I've never had this problem before. I don't understand where the "Default" came from. When I start a new document and click on the update tab, there doesn't seem to be any listing for "Default"???? I never fool with that section at least KNOWINGLY.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Patsy Cockrum

New Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2014
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
For some unknown reason, it is changing itself from "Body" to "Default" and creating the problem. I just tried to copy a link into a new document, while keeping an eye on that area of the side bar. As soon as I hit "Paste" it changed itself to "Default" and the only thing that showed up in my document was the long straight line. I then clicked on "Update" and changed the evil "Default" to "Body" and my text immediately appeared.
 

Patsy Cockrum

New Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2014
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
Thanks so much for your help. I now know what to do when this problem occurs again.
 

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
7,473
Reaction score
265
So, that fixed the issue for you?

If so, glad to hear it.

Be well,

C
 
Ad

Advertisements

Patsy Cockrum

New Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2014
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
Well, the problem is sill happening, but now I know what to do when it does.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Similar Threads


Top