SOLVED Managing desktop


Barry M. Glasgal

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2015
Messages
37
Reaction score
0
I believe something has changed but I do not know what. In the past when I had more than one app window open on the desktop, like Safari and Excel, I could just click the one I wanted to work on and both remained open. Now when I click one, the other "disappears". If I minimize one the other stays visible, and I can go to the dock to reopen the window. If I don't minimize I can't seem to have two windows visible anymore. And I am not sure how to bring back the "missing" window. What settings do I have to change to restore the ability to keep more than one app visible?

I am using Safari Version 12.1.1 (13607.2.6.1.2), and OS 10.13.6 (17G7024)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
6,938
Reaction score
242
Hello,

It may have something to do with Mission Control and Spaces. Check in  > System Preferences... > Mission Control. Let us know what your settings are - what is checked.

C
 

Barry M. Glasgal

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2015
Messages
37
Reaction score
0
Here it is. I had tried variouscombination of setting ut coul not find one that worked.
3062
 

Barry M. Glasgal

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2015
Messages
37
Reaction score
0
Hello,

It may have something to do with Mission Control and Spaces. Check in  > System Preferences... > Mission Control. Let us know what your settings are - what is checked.

C
I should add that to get safari to reappear, I can double click the safari icon in the dock. And when I do not minimize an excel window it does not appear in the dock. if I have a safari widow active, all excel windows will reappear if I double click the excel icon in the dock,but safari disappears.
 

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
6,938
Reaction score
242
OK, thanks.

-Could it have to do with the buttons of your mouse? What brand/model is it?
-What happens if you use the Command-Tab Application Switcher key combination?

C
 

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
6,938
Reaction score
242
BTW - If you hold the Option key down when clicking an Application in the Dock, it hides the windows of other applications. Maybe there is a settings somewhere that is forcing an Option-click?

C
 
Ad

Advertisements

Barry M. Glasgal

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2015
Messages
37
Reaction score
0
OK, thanks.

-Could it have to do with the buttons of your mouse? What brand/model is it?
-What happens if you use the Command-Tab Application Switcher key combination?

C
When I use the Application Switcher It brings up a screen offering app choices.

My mouse is a Logitech 510. No button is programmed to any desktop function.
 

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
6,938
Reaction score
242
OK

In your Mission Control screenshot, it shows that Mission Control is Mouse Button 4 and Show Dashboard is Mouse Button 3. Maybe there are other buttons assigned somewhere, or those could be defaults with a four-button mouse?

Did you install any Logitech software for the 510...Logitech Control Center or Logitech Options ?

C
 

Barry M. Glasgal

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2015
Messages
37
Reaction score
0
After a lot of searching and learning about Spaces I solved the problem.

Somewhere along the way I had created multiple desktops. I opened the Mission Control app. It showed three desktops. I deleted two and the problem went away. i can have multiple Apps open in a single window now, which is what I wanted. I had never opened Mission Control while trying to solve the problem, only its preferences in Systems.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
6,938
Reaction score
242
Glad to hear it's resolved.

Thanks for posting the solution.

C
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top