LONG-TIME Mac User

Reaction score
I've been a Mac user since 1985, and I still have my original Mac Plus! I've had dozens of Macs over the years. I was a beta tester for Aldus Pagemaker (later Adobe), Photoshop and Illustrator. It's easy to infer that I've spent 31 years doing graphic arts, page layout and the like for various companies, including a freelance venture out of my home until I retired in January, 2016.
Currently I have a PowerMac G4 MDD 1.25 GHz which I have tricked-out to the max. I cling to it because it will run Classic or I can boot natively into OS 9, and I think I've given enough money to Adobe over the years for software and upgrades, and I refuse to "rent" or "lease" software.
I also have an Intel 23" iMac running El Capitan and a 13" MacBook running Yosemite (so I can run "SheepShaver," a Mac OS 9 emulator, which El Capitan can't.
It's strange that I had the career I had in graphic arts because I have a degrees in Economics and US History. Tried teaching in a private high school for a couple of years, but had to give that up because I like to eat and have a roof over my head! I ran numerous offset printing presses for a few years until I saw my first Mac (a 512KE) and I was hooked.
I'm completely self-taught, especially since Adobe Software Manuals might as well be written in Hebrew.
I look forward to participating on this site.

Reaction score