iChat - Latency Problem

Reaction score
Is there any way to get past a latency problem?
I purchased iSight so that I could have audio and video chats with my family. I have a Dual 1.25 GHz Power PC G4. I just upgraded to Tiger after the purchase of iSight. I keep getting the error message that there is insufficient bandwidth. After talking to both Direcway technical support and AppleCare their answer is a latency issue. Before I attempt to return the iSight - I wanted to ask if anyone knew a work around. I live in an area where my only choice of an internet provider is either dial-up or a satellite system.

I am not very technical but have access to some technical resources who can translate for me.

Ric

Reaction score
Hi and welcome !

From what you've said, I presume you are on a 56k dialup modem account. If this is the case then iChat is certainly not going to work. iChat sometimes struggles on 10x that speed connection ! It's very bandwidth dependant !

What have your family got, are they on Mac's or PC's ? What software are they using ?

There may be a way round the latency problem by using alternative software such as Skype.

Let us know and we'll look into it further !

regards

Ric

Reaction score
My father and brother both have Macs, high speed internet and are using iChat & iSights.

I have Direcway that is broadband by satellite. I tested the speed for the connection yesterday several times through the Direcway site. I got 615 kbps down and 290 kbps up. 626 down/253 up and 504 down/91up.

I just got this message when my brother and I tried to connect as a video and then as audio onlly.

2005-07-30 18:47:07 -0500: There is insufficient bandwidth to maintain the conference.
Detected 0 kbps upstream and 0 kbps downstream bandwidth; 5 kbps required.

2005-07-30 18:50:29 -0500: No data has been received for the last 10 seconds.
Audio channel info: local machine using 192.168.0.6:16384, expecting remote machine to send to 67.45.63.112:4881