I just can not get my Yamaha PSR E413 to connect to my MacBook Pro/Logic 9

Reaction score
Hi,

I would be so grateful if someone can help me in as basic detail as possible. About a year and a half ago I bought a MacBook Pro with Logic 9 in the hope of connecting my Yamaha Keyboard to it and making music. I have so many songs just waiting to be made!

However, despite trying all sorts of ideas over the last year and a half, I can not get it to connect or make sound or anything at all. All the posts I read seem to be closely related but don't make much sense to me. I would like to act as though I have never done this before and just get it going. It's really getting me down that I can't do it. I know that I can make the music when it's connected or will learn fast but I just can't get it working.

I have:

MacBook Pro
Logic 9
Yamaha PSR E413
USB wire
Audio wire
iMic

I want to be able to play the keyboard and have it set up info in tracks so I can play with it in Logic.

Fingers crossed! Thanks :-D

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello and welcome. Sorry we didn't get back to you sooner.

A couple of questions:

-Do you want to use the built-in instruments/sounds of the Yamaha or the ones in Logic?
-Have you tried it in GarageBand also?
-Did you connect it via the USB-MIDI cable and/or a standard audio cable?
-Have you downloaded and installed the Yamaha USB-MIDI driver?
-What version of Mac OS X are you running?

We'll try to get you up and running with the above information.

C

Reaction score
Hi and thank you for coming back to me.

I have now resolved the issue. I was using the correct usd midi cable and the right software had been downloaded etc... I wanted to use the sounds in Logic rather than from the keyboard.