Connecting My 1400c to Wireless network

Discussion in 'Mac OS 9 and earlier' started by Punkyclown, Jan 15, 2018.

  1. Punkyclown

    Punkyclown New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All, back from the Holidays. I purchased a Proxim 802.11b Wifi PCMCIA Card with Software.
    My Powerbook 1400c is running MacOS 8.0. So I loaded the software and inserted the card.
    This put an icon on my desktop that opens the Wireless configuration. It found the wireless
    network but showed no signal strength. When I list wireless networks it finds a number of
    networks in my area including mine. But the program freezes. The directions say I need to
    open up AppleTalk and TCP/IP control panels and choose the Wireless network card. But it is
    not listed in the control panels. So is there something I should turn on or off to make the
    control panels find the card? The information says it's compatible with my machine and 7.5.5
    or higher. Appreciate any help or advise.
    Brad Hansen
     
    Punkyclown, Jan 15, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Punkyclown

    Cory Cooper Moderator

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,337
    Likes Received:
    163
    Hello,

    -What is the exact model of the Proxim card?
    -Can you link the documentation for it?

    C
     
    Cory Cooper, Jan 27, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Punkyclown

    Punkyclown New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    C,
    Doesn't give a model number: Proxim Skyline...802.11b pc card

    Couldn't link the manual, but here is the quick start quide.
     

    Attached Files:

    Punkyclown, Jan 28, 2018
    #3
  4. Punkyclown

    Punkyclown New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, Just wanted to let you know that after two weeks of struggling with wireless internet I
    abandoned that and finally got connected using ethernet. Here is a link to the page that
    has all the instructions and software for connecting with a Linksys III ethernet card.
    http://www.floodgap.com/retrotech/mac/enet3c589/
    Cheers and thanks for all the help.
     
    Punkyclown, Jan 29, 2018
    #4
  5. Punkyclown

    Cory Cooper Moderator

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,337
    Likes Received:
    163
    Excellent..thanks for letting us know.

    I didn't see any good info about getting the Proxim card to work. The 3COm Etherlink III card would be much faster and more stable than a Wi-Fi card, at the expense of portability.

    C
     
    Cory Cooper, Jan 29, 2018
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.