Automator Group Mailer - please help

Reaction score
Hello everyone

I am at the end of my tether. I want to send an email to a group of about 50 people, which is personalised at the very least with their name. (so that each email says "Dear Bob" or their name, and that they can't tell it's gone to loads of other people).

I am using Mac Mail and a Macbook Air running OS X 10.8.2 (12C3012).

I am new to Macs so maybe doing something stupid!

I have a smart group set up in my contacts with all their details.

I also want to attach a small pdf file to the email

I have spend ALL DAY trying to make this work through Automator, using a small test group.

I've tried starting with a message with the content, subject and attachment, set up in drafts, specifying this in automator, specifying contacts, going through group mailer and specifying the greeting and then to 'send outgoing messages'. in this case it says there is no outgoing message.

I've tried starting by writing the message in automator, finding and specifying the file to attach, specifying the contacts and then using group mailer to specify the greeting, then sending outgoing messages: in this case, it says "unrecognized selector sent to instance" and has a load of numbers.

I can see from the internet that lots of people have had similar problems, going back years but I can't find a solution. I really don't understand coding or Apple Script or anything but am willing to try anything! I want to be able to do this on a fairly regular basis so having a solution would be really amazing.

essentially all I want to do is a mail merge on email with an attachment (Ideally I would personalise it more by using fields for their organisation name in the body of the text, but I'd settle for just being able to send the email right now!) ... can anyone help me...???

thank you all in advance

Kate x

Reaction score