Running .exe files on Mac OSX Lion?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X' started by abrar2011, Mar 1, 2012.

  1. abrar2011

    abrar2011 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Are there any free applications/softwares that would allow me to use .exe files on my Mac?
     
    abrar2011, Mar 1, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. abrar2011

    Spawn_Dooley Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,330
    Location:
    van diemen's land
    Can you be a bit more specific about what you want to do ?

    You will need a Windows Install disc with license for BootCamp or VirtualBox
    BootCamp:
    VirtualBox
    An other approach is to use Wine:
    Wine
    Hope this answers your question.
    Make sure your Mac meet the System Requirements of each program.

    If you want to simply extract something from an exe file you can check out:
    File Juicer
     
    Spawn_Dooley, Mar 1, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. abrar2011

    abrar2011 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    All I wanna do is download an .exe file to my Mac, and play the game.
    I'm a big fan of Age of Empires games, and I kinda miss the old basic version, which wouldn't work on my Windows 7 PC because the computer is too advanced for it.
    and I can't find Age of Empires for Mac.... anywhere. I can find the demo version, but it's an exe file, only for Windows, so I just wanna use that file on my Mac. Is it even possible?
     
    abrar2011, Mar 2, 2012
    #3
  4. abrar2011

    Kaveman VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,559
    Location:
    Westland, NZ
    No, it is not possible!
     
    Kaveman, Mar 2, 2012
    #4
  5. abrar2011

    Spawn_Dooley Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,330
    Location:
    van diemen's land
    If you want to shell out some cash you can buy CrossOver Games, (run Windows games on Macs), it is Intel Macs only & Mac OS X Leopard (10.5.x) or later is recommended.

    I can't comment on how your game will run but you can always give the free trial a spin if your Mac meets all the System Requirements.
     
    Spawn_Dooley, Mar 2, 2012
    #5
  6. abrar2011

    abrar2011 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks. I tried the free version, it's complicated. I guess I should just forget about it. That game sure is pretty old, might not even work on my Mac. I mean, it's not even working on Windows 7, I can't expect it to run on a Mac.
     
    abrar2011, Mar 2, 2012
    #6
  7. abrar2011

    Spawn_Dooley Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,330
    Location:
    van diemen's land
    You are making the right choice. Were you aware that AOE III is available for Mac OS X?
     
    Spawn_Dooley, Mar 2, 2012
    #7
  8. abrar2011

    abrar2011 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Yes, but I don't like the new game's interface, I liked the old and simple one, the Rise of Rome (demo), maybe because I've played that the most. Though I might download AOE III if I REALLY REALLY miss it. lol.
    Do you happen to know if 'Rise of Nations' is available for Mac?
     
    abrar2011, Mar 2, 2012
    #8
  9. abrar2011

    Spawn_Dooley Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,330
    Location:
    van diemen's land
    As far as I know it is ... just have a look here.
     
    Spawn_Dooley, Mar 2, 2012
    #9
  10. abrar2011

    abrar2011 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    I could've done that too, but I decided to ask you because sometimes people put on Google stuff that doesn't exist, and I didn't wanna risk anything opening risky links. But I found a good file, and it's being downloaded. Thanks though.
     
    abrar2011, Mar 2, 2012
    #10
  11. abrar2011

    Spawn_Dooley Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,330
    Location:
    van diemen's land
    No problems abrar2011 :)
     
    Spawn_Dooley, Mar 2, 2012
    #11
  12. abrar2011

    karazelle Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Norway
    Both vmware fusion and parallels desktop allows you to create a virtual machine with Windows XP (bring your own license, Home is good enough by far) and these support Direct X as well inside the virtual machine. So it might be possible to play Age of Empires after all. I will try if I can make it work so you don't shell out for either of these unnecessary :)

    Update: I tested. It worked great. Video, sound and all. Windows XP with 1Gb RAM, vmware fusion.
     
    karazelle, Mar 10, 2012
    #12
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. drakfreeze

    .EXE files are EVIL!!

    drakfreeze, Apr 1, 2007, in forum: Off-Topic Lounge
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    2,293
  2. clight
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,012
    Carol_t
    Sep 28, 2008
  3. shanzafar

    show .exe files in MAC OSX

    shanzafar, May 27, 2008, in forum: Mac OS X
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,433
    shanzafar
    May 29, 2008
  4. Newbie

    Mac and .exe files

    Newbie, Feb 28, 2005, in forum: Apps
    Replies:
    21
    Views:
    326
    Ron Parsons
    Mar 8, 2005
  5. Webslinger2300
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    258
    Webslinger2300
    Jan 23, 2004
  6. Newbie

    Mac and .exe files

    Newbie, Feb 28, 2005, in forum: Mac
    Replies:
    17
    Views:
    238
    Michael Vilain
    Mar 7, 2005
  7. markdemers15@hotmail.com

    can my Mac OS X.3 run .exe files?

    markdemers15@hotmail.com, May 9, 2006, in forum: Mac
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    105
    Leonard Blaisdell
    May 9, 2006
  8. calebnick
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    608
    Cory Cooper
    Sep 17, 2012
Loading...