reinstall OS X mavericks online.

Reaction score
Hi there!

I have a macbook pro running OS X mavericks 10.9.2. I purchased it before 4 months. Well, I'm a newbie on mac computers.

I have some problems with the most pre-installed apps of my mac. They don't open! They appeared for a second in dock and then, they disappear. The console app says : "unable to load nib file: MainMenu, exiting".

So, I want to have these apps back again. (some of them are very useful to me, as calendar, iMessage FaceTime, maps etc etc)

I don't have any backup (from time machine or other app).

So, I have seen from here (http://support.apple.com/kb/PH14193) that if I want to reinstall these apps (such as quicktime,FaceTime, iMessage mail or calendar) I have to reinstall mavericks.

I'm posting for a few questions I have, because I'm a little bit of afraid to do a reinstallation.

1.Is this online re-installation works fine?
2. Is the re-installation "formats" my Macintosh HD?
3. Am I gonna lose my third party applications? (e.g. adobe photoshop or VLC or Skype or Ableton Live) ?
4. In the support of apple for the reinstallation it says : "Use the built-in recovery disk to reinstall OS X while keeping your files and user settings intact". Is this means that I will have exactly the same third-party apps and settings like I have it right now?
and how can I use the built-in recovery disk? where is it?

Thank you in advance...

Reaction score
1.Is this online re-installation works fine?
Yes, if you have a good strong internet connection.
2. Is the re-installation "formats" my Macintosh HD?
Only if you choose that option.
3. Am I gonna lose my third party applications? (e.g. adobe photoshop or VLC or Skype or Ableton Live) ?
Only if you choose that option.