"do shell script" error

Reaction score
ok, complete beginner here looking for a bit of help.

I have a bash script to unmount one of my volumes without me having to go into Diskutil. It works fine when entering from the command line within terminal, showing results as it goes.

I've attempted to write an applescript to run the terminal and execute the command. After a few seconds it does unmount the volume (without showing results in the terminal) but then Applescript gets an error saying the volume failed to unmount.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

APPLESCRIPT:

tell application "Terminal"
activate

do shell script "disk"

end tell

tell application "Terminal"
quit
end tell

Here is the BASH Script:

#!/bin/bash

##
# Mount/Unmount disks by Volume Name
##

if [ -z "dWerx" ] ; then
echo "usage : disk dWerx"
echo "Mounts dWerx if it's not mounted, and"
echo "unmounts it if it is already mounted."
exit 1
fi

NAME=dWerx
PART=`diskutil list|grep "$NAME"|awk '{print $NF}'`

if [ -z `ls -1 /Volumes/ | grep "$NAME" | awk '{print $NF}'` ] ; then
##
# check that PART appears to be a disk partition
##
echo Checking $NAME $PART
if [ `file /dev/$PART | awk '{print $2}'` = "block" ]; then
echo Mounting $NAME $PART
diskutil mount /dev/$PART
else
echo /dev/$PART does not appear to be a disk partition - exiting
exit 1
fi
else
echo unmounting $NAME $PART
diskutil unmount /Volumes/"$NAME"
fi

Thanks,

Daz

Reaction score
Interesting,

I have now run the script outside of script editor and I do not receive the error message. Something I should have tried before posting! :eek:

However, the terminal does not quit after the drive has unmounted.

daz

Reaction score
You do not need to activate the Terminal to run a shell script. Try just this:

do shell script "disk"

Reaction score
AYE YA YA!!

simplicity.

Thank-you, Thank-you kind sir. I need not gooogle more. For now.

Cheers!

Daz

Reaction score