Disk errors?

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a newbie and have searched for threads that answer my question but can't see anything specific so I apologise if I'm duplicating anything...
I have an iMac 27" mid 2011 model running El Capitan 10.11.6 and use Parallels to run windows 10 in a VM. the Windows performance has become painful, almost unusable, especially when windows is booting, it takes ages 15-20 minutes and I noticed Task Manager showing 100% disk utilisation for half an hour or so after windows booted and I can hear the disk being hammered. The parallels guys have been looking at it and we did some tests just on the Mac side. While nothing like as bad as the virtual environment, OSx is also slower than it used to be and I can hear the disk being accessed continually... The Parallels engineer thinks it may be the disk that's got some errors and this is causing the problem but I've run Disk Utility and it says it's all OK so:
a) Is there another utility I can use that does a more detailed check of the disk than Disk Utility and,
b) does anyone have any other ideas what the problem could be...
thanks in advance :)

Reaction score
First of all, have you been making backups to an external device? (I am unsure about how such backups would "work" with the "Windows"/Parallels partition)?

Secondly, I suspect you only ran Disk Utility "locally"/directly. A better procedure would be to boot your Mac to the (hidden) Recovery HD partition by pressing the Command and R keys. These links describes that partition:

http://computers.tutsplus.com/tutor...why-its-there-and-how-to-remove-it--mac-31796

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201314

You would then run Disk Utility from that partition to "look" at your drive.

On the "Mac side", I'm not sure if you are also having a Permissions "issue". El Capitan "supposedly" handles that, but I myself use the excellent (and free!) third party app Onyx to Repair Permissions (plus do some other useful tasks). You can get Onyx from here: