System Preferences pops up after screensaver, Everytime!

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm relatively new to the mac (and glad to be here!) but I know enough about this basic stuff to believe I didn't do anything wrong!

Here's my issue.

First, this is happening on the most recent generation Powerbook G4 12", so 1.5ghz, 60gb, airport/bluetooth/etc, combo, 768mb of ram (upgraded it a bit)... the same one they have at the store now for the 12" powerbook. It's running the absolute newest stuff there is, I make sure to update as often as possible. So that makes my OS version 10.4.5 build 8H14.

On to my issue. I have the following external stuff plugged into the powerbook.

Power

Regular ethernet cable

usb hub with camera and keyboard (which also has the mouse attached to it), camera not plugged in, just the cable, it has been like this for weeks upon weeks. Same with the keyboard and mouse.

External 19" monitor. Using the mini-dvi to vga converter, again this has been going on for months.

audio jack to speakers.

I've got, say, itunes on my 12" laptop screen and everything else running in 1280x1024 on my 19" monitor.

All goes well until I get up and leave, i come back and the laptop has not gone to sleep but just goes into screen saver / blank screen mode (powersaving and such according to my prefs). This is good, I know it's not sleeping since the fans are still going and my torrents dont stop downloading etc.

When I move the mouse the laptops screen pops right back up and shows itunes / desktop / whatever... the 19"er takes a few seconds since it's kind of old, eventually it comes back up and behind all of my windows is a system preferences window.. the same one that comes up as if you were to goto <Apple Menu> -> System Preferences... I click on it and quit system preferences and it closes without issue. But next time i leave the computer for enough time that the screen goes blank it comes right back!

What's going on!?

Thanks for any advice / thoughts on this.