Script to quickly install programs on multiple Macs

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I am very new to Applescript also very interested in it. I work part time at Drexel University for computer support. We have over 15 new Macs that are for faculty and we need to install the Office suite, SPSS, Norton AntiVirus and a few others. We origionally were just going to create an image and use ASR, but the image is way to big and we don't want to set up a seperate network to do a multicast.

Since the programs we need installed are capable of just being dragged into the application folder of each hard drive, I suggested that we copy the programs on a CD or DVD and then just drag them over. In short the idea was accepted and I was asked to try and create a script that can copy all these programs over to the hard drive from the disc and then create an icon in the dock for that program. I read other posts about backup and thought that method could be used to move the files over the Application folder, but i'm still left with the icon in the dock issue.
I need to try and get this task accomplished before Friday, so anyhelp is greatly appreciated!

Thank you in advance,
Shane

Ric

Reaction score
Hi there Shane and welcome !

do you have a spare External Hard Drive...I would copy the Apps to that then plug that into each Mac copy the Apps a cross and then make the Dock icon...

You should be done in a day !

You could do it with AppleScript, but it wouldn't really make it any quicker...

Are the Mac's Networked...can you access them via Termal or File Sharing ?

If you can...copy the Apps to one Mac and then from there set up acopy to each Mac over night...then when you come in...in the morning jst whizz round to each Mac and Make the Dock icons...

There I would try and get your bosses to buy Apple Remote Desktop...it would make this very easy to do !

regards

Ric

Reaction score
Hey Ric thanks for the quick reply!