New to Mac

Reaction score
Hello folks, I am new to MACs and not having any experience with them I am seeking your help in understanding how I can bypass a login password for a previous owner.

I recently purchased a MAC 3G at a community garage sale. The computer was donated by parents and didn't have any idea that the son put a password on the computer. My problem is I can't even figure out how to get into the OS to delete or over ride the password.

I'm not familiar with the key board command, or short cuts. and not knowing anything other than DOS commands ( I know bad words, I'm sorry) I don't know were to start.

Can anyone please help me and provide some guidance? I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you, anyone/everyone, for taking the time to even read this, but particularly to those who can assist me in this problem.

Ric

Reaction score
Hi there and welcome,

Can I just check what type of Mac it is, is it a G3 ?

Did it come with any disks ?

If it comes with a disk with an X on it, possibly and OS X Panther Install CD, then put that into the drive, turn the computer off...then start it up again keeping the c key held down.

This should then allow you to boot from the CD, once the installation screen comes up keep going till the menu bar at the top has the regular set of choices on the menu bar. One of those menus is Utilities and one of the choices on that menu is Reset Password....

Once you have entered a new password you can restart the Mac, and your password will work.

Regards

Ric

Reaction score
Hi Ric, and thank you for replying. I didn't get any disks, books, or documentation with the computer. I determined it was a G-3 from the side of the tower case.

I did some research on Apple/Mac products and found only one product that fit the description, according th the information I gather from that web site, it is Power Mac G-3 "all in one" tower. the case itself is white with transparent blue and white plastice protecting the case.