New to MAC, HDD capacity issue...

Reaction score
Hello. Let me first apologize for my lack of MAC know-how, but this is my first time working with a MAC. I installed a 200GB Maxtor HDD into a G4 internally, and it's only showing 127GB. I did read the other thread in this area about the same issue, but there I did not see a resolution. My assumption is that this is probably a common issue and there is an easy fix, but I'm quite lost when it comes to MACs. So, I'm hoping that someone can tell me how to get this fixed.

Thanks for any help,

Dave

Reaction score
Dave:

A few items to begin with. Was the drive brand new, or moved over from a different machine? If the latter, was it a non-Mac machine?

Many brand new drives come formatted for Windows, and as long as you are running Tiger (OS X 10.4.x), you should run an application called Disk Utility. It is located in the Utilities folder that is inside of your Applications folder. It may be that the disk is partitioned in such a way that the Mac can only see a portion of it. As long as there is no vital data on the drive, Disk Utility should be able to wipe it clean and format it for Mac OS Journaled, which is what you want.

Good Luck,

Ric

Reaction score
Hi there Dave and welcome !

to add to CAS's excellent post...

Can you give the exact Model Mac you have...go to the Apple menu and select About this Mac then click the More Info button...this should give you the model number...

...some Mac's are limited to 128GB drives by the drive controller built in...

Can I also ask...is the drive the only one 'inside' the Mac ? If it isn't how have you got the 'jumpers' set on the drive ?

regards

Ric

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Go

Ric is spot-on...

There were many G4 Macs that had a firmware limit of 128GB for drive size. A few had a firmware update that was available to remove that limit.

We can dig a little deeper with more info about your Mac.

C

Reaction score