Manual sleep OK, but no auto sleep

Reaction score
HI- I have the latest mac mini & it will not go to sleep on it's own. I have tried setting the timer for different settings (default, 1 -20 minutes, etc.) but it will not go to sleep. I can put it to sleep manually & it will stay asleep until I move the mouse or hit a keyboard key. The monitor will go to sleep & wake up no problem. I tried doing the permission validation & repair. Didn't work. I have run the Mac OSX disc & gone thru the OS & disk repair procedure. After repair, I do get a few notes saying files have been modified & not repaired: suid: Sys/Lib/remote mngt/ARD agent.app/contents/macos/ard agent; but nothing else. It is weird that I can make it go to sleep & it will stay, but it doesn't have enough authority to do it on it's own. This is my first mac, so I am a novice a fixing things. I have a bluetooth mac keyboard & logitech mouse. I also have W7 64bit bootcamped. HP printer, but it usually off. Energy saver: only put hard drive to sleep when possible & allow power button to put computer to sleep are checked.
Thanx for any help, Bob V

Reaction score
Did you look at the system prefs settings? Look at energy saver to check that "never" is not chosen in either "computer sleep" or "display sleep"

Reaction score
Yeah I checked all that, thank you. I installed "pleasesleep" ap & now it is forced to sleep. Can't understand why Mac can't figure out why this can't be fixed. I did all the permission stuff & even did a repair with my rescue disc, but that didn't fix it.

Homey

Reaction score
Its always difficult to fix problems if 3rd party software has been added to the mix.

Open Your HardDrive Icon
Goto Library, NOT System > Library. NOT Home > Library.
Open Preferences Folder
Open SystemConfiguration Folder
Move com.apple.PowerManagement.plist to the Trash
Restart

Change your Energy Saver setting to how you want.

Test.

Reaction score
Hi KM,