Mac Mini- Safari and iTunes won't connect... HELP

Reaction score
Hi, just looking for advice... I am no expert with computers by any means... so when they don't do as they are supposed to I don't like to delve too deep and end up clicking the wrong thing!

On my Mac Mini, I originally used Safari, but recently we also had Firefox on as some websites didn't seem to like Safari- like Myspace.

Two days ago I clicked on Safari as normal, and it won't load. I have tried it many times, but nothing. I am also not able to update software due to some connection problem? I have no idea what you do to check settings etc, I am fairly new to Mac...

Also now iTunes store won't let me connect, am wondering if something has been clicked without me realising?

Firefox and Entourage are both working okay though, we have NTL cable/broadband. I don't understand why it will connect to that but not the other ones?

Can anyone help? I would really appreciate it :)

Thank you- Suzie

Ric

Reaction score
Hi Suzie and welcome !

When you launch Safari or iTunes do they give you any sort of error message ?

regards

Ric

Reaction score
Thanks Ric!

When I load Firefox and Entourage everything works fine, but when I load Safari the page just remains completely blank- eventually a message comes up saying about the network connection timing out- and with iTunes the same thing happens when I try to go to the store. Also same thing with the update software.

Thanks for helping me!

Suzie

Reaction score
Hi Suzo, launch Safari and then click on the word "Safari" at the top left - then click "reset Safari"

Safari will close down again and relaunch. When it does, go to preferences (click on the word Safari at the top again) and then, in the preference pane, click "general" at the top left.

Change the homepage to something like http://www.google.com. Now close and relaunch Safari - does it time out now?