help needed

Reaction score
hi . i am new to mac too. i am trying to install final cut pro 4 on my new powermac G5. it says configuration error..needthis software requires certain hardware or software missing. AGP Graphics card.
I read another post int his forum and tried to go thro the info.plist and chnanged the AGP to PCI express and saved that doc in the omni outliner .It still doesn't work.
need help.
raj

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Go

Hi,

Which Mac are you trying to install on? Which info.plist file are you manually editing?

Ric

Reaction score
rajmac said:
...I read another post in this forum and tried to go thro the info.plist and chnanged the AGP to PCI express and saved that doc in the omni outliner .It still doesn't work.
need help.
raj

Hi there and welcome,

You can't edit the files in OmniOutliner it's not made to edit plist files...

Unfortunately if you haven't got the Developer Tools installed (it's on the Tiger DVD), then double clicking on any .plist file will open it in OmniOutliner this shouldn't happen really !!!

You need to open the file in an Application called "Property List Editor" or a text editing App...then you can search for the value...AGP and change it to PCI.

If you want email me the plist file and I will edit it for you...

regards

Ric

Reaction score
thanks for your reply. i have a power mac G5 dual..
Where do i find the property list editor? do i need to install it?
What other text editors can i use? microsoft word?
I appreciate your help. If my attempts to fix don't work I will email you (Ric) the infoplist file.

Thanks

Ric

Reaction score
Hi there,

you can download the Apple Developer Tools (which includes plist editor !) from the Apple Developer Website.

You have to 'join' to be able to download 'Xcode', go to this page and click the Join button (Online Membership is free !)

Once it has downloaded and installed when you double click on a .plist it will open in Plist Editor !