Help - How Do I Use Applescript To Launch A Program After....

Reaction score
Hi - i have a query that i am hoping all you smarter, more experienced and friendly MacUsers out there might be able to help me with!
I am a photographer trying to automate some of my work flow, so far i have written a simple Automator script allowing me to transfer new files from a card reader to where i store them on my external hard drive etc. The problem i have is that i have to tell Automator to do this and which script to run, and i was hoping to get hold of a simple a Applescript that can make this happen for me as soon as i connect a card reader. I basically want to automate the Automater (oh the irony)
Is this plausible or am i talking bollocks? Please be aware -i am still newish to using Macs and not the most gifted/experienced of users.
Maybe there is another really simple way of doing it i havn't yet discovered!
If it helps i am running a Mac Pro, dual-core Intel-Xeon, 2.66GHz, 2GB 667MHz, DDR2 with OSX 10.4.9.
Can you help??? THANKYOU!
Bill

Ric

Reaction score
Hi there Bill and welcome !

In your Applications folder is an App called Image Capture, you can use this to 'run' any Application once a camera is connected...

So save the Automator workflow as an Application and then assign this to run when a camera is connected.

I haven't got a card reader handy to test this...but this will work if you connect your camera directly.

Give it a go and see if it works. If you are not sure of any of the steps let me know.

regards

Ric

Reaction score
ok -that makes sense (i think!) but i still have to use a program i don't normally ever use and tell it to run a script (image capture). Is this the only way it can be done? i have saved the Automator script i have written (as an app) and can email it to you if you want to see what i am trying to do.