help compiling..

Reaction score
Im very new to using the terminal however im a long time mac user. i am trying to compile programs, however, i cannot seem to do this. I have xcode installed. I am trying to compile ettercap 0.6.7 and it will ./configure, but when i 'make' it says:
/usr/bin/ld: Undefined symbols:
_GETLONG
_GETSHORT
_PUTSHORT
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make: *** [ettercap] Error 1

Also, can someone elp me compile yawcu (http://sourceforge.net/projects/yawcu)? there is no file or directory when i try to 'configure.' these questions may be easy to fix, i dont know hardly anything about unix. thanks

Ric

Reaction score
Hi there and welcome !

What version of OS X have you got ?

And what version of Xcode ?

regards

Ric

Ric

Reaction score
I would also have a look at using Fink or Darwin ports, this may make your life a little easier.

I currently have Fink running, have a read through the documentation on their pages and let me know which way you want to go !

You would probably be better running Ethereal...

Have you looked at Kismac ?

regards

Ric

Reaction score
I'm using 10.4.7 on a Macbook Pro with v2.2.1 of Xcode. I am interested in protecting my wireless network, and want to try out some of the WEP password crackers and sniffers, which lead me to ettercap and yawcu. However, when i found these applications i realized i had no idea about Unix applications or its uses.
I think the problem with ettercap is that i need libpthread, however i dont know where to find this. Does anyone know? Perhaps a tutorial about compiling programs in Unix would help too? I have read about Fink, but im not sure exactly what it is or does. Thanks Ric, ive been trying to get help for a long time about these and youre the first one whos seemed to offer help.

Ric

Reaction score
Hi there,

I will give you a tutorial later tonight !

Your options are a little limited at the minute whilst all the good software, is converted to the Intel chip...

regards

Ric