Reaction score
Hi,

I use my ibook G4 (stats- Machine Model: iBook G4
CPU Type: PowerPC G4 (1.2)
Number Of CPUs: 1
CPU Speed: 1.33 GHz
L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
Memory: 768 MB)

For mostly photos (I'm a recreation Photographer) I have about 4,000-5,000 photos in my iphoto, but I did a search and deleted all my original folders of photos I cleaned up or changed etc. But I still find the computer is taking forever to close and open programs like the photoshop elements I like to use, and the iphoto itself, not to mention it takes forever for any application really.

I've already used 37.75 GB from the Capacity of 55.76 GB. Before I threw away the photo original files I had only 13.00 GB to use.

My question (sorry so winded) I was wondering if there was some free program out there where I can scan my whole computer, and it will find and throw away any viruses, bugs, or duplicates I have on my computer that I can't see, which will bring me more space and free up my applications?

Please reply if you can.

Thanks
Lany

Ric

Reaction score
Hi Lany,

what version of iPhoto are you using ? On a my G4 PowerBook iPhoto 5 takes 2.5 secs to open with 2895 photos...slighter faster processor. But yours should be similar !

I know that there was a few problems with the speed of iPhoto 4...iPhoto 5 has fixed these.

Before I suggest any 'Maintenance Software' or how to do a bit of 'housekeeping on your Mac'...do you have backups of all those pictures ?

regards

Ric

Attachments

• iPhoto001.jpg
    iPhoto001.jpg
    137.6 KB · Views: 433
  • iPhoto002.jpg
    iPhoto002.jpg
    42.6 KB · Views: 453
  • iPhoto003.jpg
    iPhoto003.jpg
    17.4 KB · Views: 428
Reaction score
Hi Ric,