New SSD

Reaction score
Hi!

I have a Macbook Pro mid 2012 13inch and i am upgrading it bit by bit,

I have decided to invest in a SSD so have gone for the 120gb samsung 850 evo for my operating system apps ect and then have all my other music photos and stuff on an external 2tb HDD, but i have no idea how to go around the switch over? My current hard drive has around 350gb of space taken up on it so i cant image to my external and put it back on the SSD, any instruction help or even to just point me in the right direction would be amazing, i don't have the best knowledge to all this but i am a trainee IT technician and graphic designer so i am fairly familiar with all this technology

Thanks,

Tom

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

-So, you have less than 350 GB left on the external 2 TB? Thus, you can't copy everything from the internal to it?
-Do you have any other external HDs?

You could buy an external enclosure for the original HD, install the SSD, boot to your current HD in the external enclosure. That would allow you to format the new SSD after it is installed in the MBP, install OS X on it, then do a migration from your original HD. You could then erase it and you would have a second external that you could use as a Time Machine backup HD from your SSD.

C

Reaction score
Well, since it's a mid-2012 MacBook Pro, would you not mind sacrificing the disc drive?
You can then have a 2-drive setup: put a hard drive (not SSD) or the original drive where the disc drive was-
Then, put the SSD where the original drive was.

There's guides all over the 'net for this!

Do not forget TRIM Enabler. This is required to keep the SSD "healthy" since OS X does not have built-in TRIM support for any drives other than SSD's that come with the computer.
https://www.cindori.org/software/trimenabler/

Read this as well if you're on Yosemite or are upgrading to it! (important!)
https://www.cindori.org/trim-enabler-and-yosemite/

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.