Mac HDD (Macintosh HD) Filling for no reason

Reaction score
Hey guys, pretty urgent matter, as we speak my HDD is filling up, I cannot figure out why, I went from 100gb space, to 0kb space today, without a single download, I upgraded to Yosemite from Mavericks yesterday and only noticed today - I am rather freaking out now, as Im new to Mac.

Reaction score
Model Name:MacBook Pro

Model Identifier:MacBookPro11,2

Processor Name:Intel Core i7

Processor Speed:2.2 GHz

Number of Processors:1

Total Number of Cores:4

L2 Cache (per Core):256 KB

L3 Cache:6 MB

Memory:16 GB

Boot ROM Version:MBP112.0138.B14

SMC Version (system):2.18f15

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

Several things can cause the disappearing disk space issue - a runaway log file, Gmail - notorious for downloading all mail multiple times, Time Machine local backups to your internal HD, Spotlight indexing going crazy, etc.

Since you are only running Notes, Google Chrome, Steam, and Activity Monitor (in the Dock) in your screenshot, I would lean towards a log file. I also see that you have updates available for Adobe Creative Cloud in the menu bar.

The multiple instances of Google Chrome Helper are normal. Chrome launches an instance each time a new tab/window is opened so that if one window crashes, it doesn't take down Chrome as a whole. So, you can ignore that, and/or use Safari instead. ;)

I suggest downloading, installing, and running an app called GrandPerspective. It will analyze your HD and show you a visual representation of all of the files on your HD by file size. We can then identify which file(s) are eating up your free space and go from there.

C

Reaction score
Thank you Cory for your response, I shall try GrandPerspective now and report back, Im still struggling for space, Ive kept myself afloat by deleting much-loved movie's and music albums tonight..

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
I woud just upload a screenshot or look at the result and see what the largest file is.