iTunes issues

Reaction score
Greetings
I have recently obtain a MacBook Pro using Mac OSX 10.6.8. It seems I cannot upgrade from this version of operating system which in turn will not let me upgrade to a newer version of itunes.
My problem is that I have copied my itunes account from my PC over to my mac. Now when I try to open itunes I get the message that I need to download a new version of itunes. I try to do this but with no luck. I am wondering if my MacBook Pro is too old (it belonged to my daughter) and there is nothing I can do. I am new to using the Mac system but I do have an iPhone, admittedly a 4S.
Any one have any solutions???
Thanking you in advance
David

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

Visit this site, type in your serial number, and let us know what the exact model it reports for your MacBook Pro:

Apple - Check Your Service and Support Coverage

We can then determine any/all updates for OS X that your Mac supports, and guide you to resolving the issue.

C
Hi Cory

I have carried out your request and can report the following...

MacBookPro (13 inch, Mid 2009)

Thank you.

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
OK, that model does support the latest version of Mac OS X and iTunes. You will need to download and install OS X 10.11 El Capitan from the App Store. That will install the latest version of iTunes as well.

-What processor speed - 2.26 or 2.53 GHz?
-How much RAM - 2 GB or 4GB?
-How much free hard drive space in GB?

El Capitan will run on 2 GB, but 4 GB or more is better. Your MBP will support up to 8 GB.

Before you do that however, we strongly urge you to make sure you have a current Time Machine or other backup of your data. Do you have an external hard drive, and have you been using Time Machine?

C

Reaction score
Model Name:MacBook Pro

Model Identifier:MacBookPro5,5

Processor Name:Intel Core 2 Duo

Processor Speed:2.26 GHz

Number Of Processors:1

Total Number Of Cores:2

L2 Cache:3 MB

Memory:2 GB

Bus Speed:1.07 GHz