I think I caught a virus, am I right?

Reaction score
Hey!

Today I've noticed something weird and honestly I don't even know how to describe it, so maybe I'll just show you a screenshot...

Screen_Shot_2016_08_31_at_18_44_08.png

So I'm talking about the "Shared" - "warez-pc".

I don't use any torrent softwares and I don't download anything illegal on this computer. Can you tell me what it is or what it could be and how to get rid of it? Is it a virus?

Thanks in advance, I only got my first macbook 2 months ago, so I'm new in this world and very confused :D
Asia

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

Asia - No, that isn't a virus. It is simply a PC with file sharing enabled that is on the same network as your Mac.

-Do you share your Wi-Fi with anyone...a neighbor?
-Do you have File Sharing enabled in  > System Preferences... > Sharing?

indago - The link that oldscribe provided is a legitimate site. Are you running any third-party utilities such as MacKeeper/CleanMyMac, or do you have an antivirus or network monitoring app installed? Those may trigger that alert you are receiving.

C

Reaction score
indago - The link that oldscribe provided is a legitimate site. Are you running any third-party utilities such as MacKeeper/CleanMyMac, or do you have an antivirus or network monitoring app installed? Those may trigger that alert you are receiving.

C

I have Avast installed and working on my Mac.

I believe that there is a virus embedded in my computer. Recently, my Microsoft Office 2008, specifically Excel, and Word, take a longer time to close, and in the menu bar at the top there appears the Apple icon and a scroll icon next to it. I never saw this before. Safari seems slower at times also, and sometimes freezes up.

What can I use to seek out this virus and get rid of it?

I am using:

MacBook Pro 17" 2.53GHz Core i5 (A1297) Mid 2010 MC024LL/A SKU17697 MC024LL/A GS17697

OSX Version 10.6.8 Safari Version 5.1.10 (6534.59.10)

Cory Cooper

Reaction score