HELP!! IMac says I'm low on memory

Discussion in 'Mac OS X' started by Rogere, Apr 11, 2012.

  1. Rogere

    Rogere New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    I am trying to work in Excel on my Mac X 10, never had a problem before but now I can not even add a row because I get a pop-up that says Memory Too Low. I check my activity ,moniter and I have 1.8 GB free memory, 565 Wired (whatever that means), 904 MB active, 781MG InActive and 2.19 USED, I hope not USED UP!

    Any suggestions?
     
    Rogere, Apr 11, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Rogere

    Kaveman VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,559
    Location:
    Westland, NZ
    This is a Excel / Microsoft bug. Try a restart, don't leave Excel open for long periods of time and always log out/in or restart after using.
     
    Kaveman, Apr 12, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Rogere

    Rogere New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Kaveman,

    Thanks for the reply(s). I am a researcher and leave my Excel open all the time my 'puter is on, several Excel files in fact, have for nearly two years now with this Mac and six years before that on a PC. May have to go back to a PC. At least for MS Office not as stable on the Mac.
     
    Rogere, Apr 12, 2012
    #3
  4. Rogere

    Kaveman VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,559
    Location:
    Westland, NZ
    yep, thats exactly what MS wants!
     
    Kaveman, Apr 12, 2012
    #4
  5. Rogere

    Kaveman VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,559
    Location:
    Westland, NZ
    I see MS have just release SP 2, might help with your issues.
     
    Kaveman, Apr 12, 2012
    #5
  6. Rogere

    Rogere New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Kaveman,

    Is the SP2 for a PC or my Mac?
     
    Rogere, Apr 13, 2012
    #6
  7. Rogere

    Kaveman VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,559
    Location:
    Westland, NZ
  8. Rogere

    Rogere New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Kaveman,

    I am using MS 2008 and am afraid to update any further. Seems to me that every update MS makes gets less stable and does far less than the previous version. I wish I could use 2003 on my Mac!
     
    Rogere, Apr 13, 2012
    #8
  9. Rogere

    Kaveman VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,559
    Location:
    Westland, NZ
    I think 2011 is a better product, but I agree.
    Thats why I use Pages.
     
    Kaveman, Apr 13, 2012
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. blahh
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    2,581
    teapot
    Dec 29, 2008
  2. ruxyion
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    196
    ruxyion
    Mar 15, 2009
  3. Blake Patterson
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    99
    Your Name
    Oct 25, 2003
  4. John Steinberg
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    188
  5. GitFiddler
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    426
    David Empson
    Sep 30, 2007
  6. mojofilter

    Low on Memory (both myself and my Mac)

    mojofilter, Oct 29, 2003, in forum: UK Macs
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    67
    Jon B
    Oct 29, 2003
  7. Mark Evans
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    229
    Mark Evans
    Jan 16, 2004
  8. Deshi Miah

    Emac Memory Type & PC Memory HELP!

    Deshi Miah, Feb 23, 2005, in forum: UK Macs
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    459
    b_deshi
    Feb 24, 2005
Loading...