Captian Doesn't Appear In Startup Disk Prefs

Reaction score
Dear Mac Gods,

I need your advice please.

I've been using Snow Leopard for years, and am just now adding el Capitan. I have two partitions on my hard drive, one for Snow and on the other I just installed Capitan.

When I'm in Snow, the Capitan partition doesn't show up in the Startup Disk section of the System Prefs. Thus, I can't use the startup disk feature to switch from one OS to another, as I've been doing for many years. (When I'm in Captian, Snow does appear in the Startup Disk feature)

I can boot in to the el Capitan partition by holding down the option key on startup, and once Capitan is booted it seems to be working ok.

I did some research before posting, and can see that some others have had the same issue. Thus, I'm guessing this is not an issue specific to my setup.

Anybody know anything about this mystery? I'm trying to determine if this "feature" of this "upgrade" is something I can fix, or if there's nothing I can do but make peace with it.

Many thanks for you insights.

Reaction score
Not sure if this is quite the same, but I had something similar occur just now. I have an old 17" PowerBook machine with OS 10.6.8, Snow Leopard, on it, and I just booted it up (surprisingly still works!). Well, after I got the desktop, I plugged in my new external drive (has a 512 gig Samsung 850 Pro SSD) via one of the available USB ports, and just like you, the partitions containing the SuperDuper! bootable, OS 10.11.6, backups for my Mac Mini and my MacBook Air did not appear when I clicked on Startup Disk in System Preferences. (They did appear, though, on the desktop). However, and again just like you experienced, when I re-started the machine and held down the Option key, those two bootable partitions did appear.

So, I wonder if this is some kind of "restriction" with Snow Leopard. Not sure, though, about any "intervening" versions of the Mac OS (10.7, 10.8, 10.9, and 10.10).

Reaction score